Lisbon Historically And Today
Home of the first railroad tunnel in America, the history of this small town apparently had its beginning with a spark kindled in England by the puritans who came over to this wilderness land to make their homes where they would be free to govern themselves and worship God as they chose. The settlement of what is now the Town of Lisbon commenced about the year 1698. The settlement of Newent commenced in 1718 with sixteen persons listed on the roll of accepted inhabitants. They were known as "the farmers in ye Crotch of ye rivers."
tttttThe town was incorporated in 1786 when it was named Lisbon, doubtless from the fact that Hezekiah and Jabez Perkins and other commercial shippers traded from Norwich with the port of Lisbon, in Portugal.
tttttArea attractions include the Bishop House Museum, located near the center of the town along scenic route 169 and the Anshei Israel Synagogue, locate along Route 138. Both of these buildings are part of the National Historic Register and are cared for by the Lisbon Historical Society, Inc. Lisbon Meadows Park boasts miles of walking and jogging paths as well as baseball and soccer fields.
This quiet, rural community with an excellent and modern school system also offers cultural, recreational, commercial and retail opportunities.