Eastford Historically and Today
Eastford has a rich history. The local Nipmuck Indians called the area "Wabaquasset" meaning "place-of-needs for making mats." The community was first settle by the families of John and Sarah Perry and William Ward Sr. in 1711. These early settlers followed the Old Connecticut Path, basically an Indian trail. Eastford separated from Ashford and became its own community in 1847.
Eastford is a small family like agricultural community spread across 28 miles. A large part of the town's land is taken up by the beautiful Natchaug State Forest and the pristine Yale Forest.
The community's elementary school serves children from grades K-8. Woodstock Academy provides education to high school students.